World Cup 2018: What Okocha said about France in 4-2 win against Croatia

Nigerian midfield maestro, Austin Okocha has shared his opinion on the penalty awarded France in the first half of the World Cup final against Croatia.

The former PSG star said that Argentina referee Nestor Pitana was right to award a penalty.

An own goal from Mario Mandzukic gave France the lead in the 18th minute, only for Ivan Perisic to equalize ten minutes later after a deft free-kick delivery from Luka Modric.

Antoine Griezmann restored France lead from the spot kick before the break.

Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe put the game beyond the Croats and made Hugo Lloris second half error insignificant.

The referee consulted VAR before awarding the penalty and Okocha told SuperSports, ”I think that’s VAR bang on, it was a clear penalty. referee
did not see it because it happened so fast.

”I know you can’t go for a header by raising your hand, but it wasn’t one movement, it was two movements there. ”



Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *